AHHHH!!! SO MUCH!

I have been rather silent around the blog lately – mainly due to the fact that my semester is ending and any big projects and tests are in front of me. Throw in the fact that I have been helping lead some amazing outreach events at church and my time is kind of squashed. I finished up my last final tonight and will complete the last project of the semester in the next day or so and hopefully I will get back in the swing of things.

There is so much to write, and hopefully I will be prompted to do so…so instead of just explaining where I have been, because the vast majority of you could actually care less, I have to attempt to write something so incredible, so intriguing, that will get you to return here desiring for more … so what shall it be? The amazing report from Thanksgiving of Grace? Not yet. The most hilarious thing that Owen has done recently? I will, just not today. The craziest thing that has happened to me? Do you really want to know? What God has been telling me? Well sort of. I will share with you a thought that has been somewhat haunting me lately. It is a simple statement that I read earlier this year, that for whatever reason I can’t escape from it …

IF IT AIN’T BROKE, BREAK IT.

Yep, that’s it. Nothing profound, but something I really feel convicted about lately. This goes with essentially everything I was ever taught, but in the last several months, I have been involved in situations where God has challenged me in this area. And recently, I read something in the Bible that made me think of this…Luke 19 – The parable of the talents. I have read this story a hundred times. I have taught on this parable several times as well. Yet God, with his timing, revealed the connection here.

The treasure of the gospel is never honored when buried in the ground for “safekeeping”. This parable revealed to me that what God has given us – His Word and His Spirit – has been entrusted to us to be risked. It’s not the cautious servant that is rewarded for his efforts, it is the ones who took the risk – “risk your life and get more than you ever dreamed of. Play it safe and end up holding the bag.

Just because what we are doing is working, doesn’t necessarily mean that we are in God’s will. I don’t want to get to Heaven holding only a bag. I want to be able to say I was part of change – I was part of taking risks. I guess sometimes the wisest principle is, “If it ain’t broke, break it.”

….RANDOM I KNOW – BUT – I LOVE YA!

Leave a Reply

