Thoughts

Have been kind of missing around here lately…mainly because of Unleash Wichita. We are getting pumped about what is taking place in our community through this project. We have been able to radically bless families through this campaign, we are beginning to partner with many local and global missions organizations, and the entire church is gearing up for a huge outreach project called Thanksgiving of Grace. This is just the kick off to UNLEASH WICHITA – there is so much more to come.

Owen is starting to respond to the TV. You know when Mickey Mouse gives that awkward pause after a sentence like he is really talking to us. Owen believes it and talks back. It is cute. Just going to be weird when he starts talking to dead people.

Halloween was fun. I like Halloween. It was nice to be able to take Owen around to different events and houses. I like being a parent.

Owen is getting a new little cousin soon. Rachel’s sister is having a baby. They are hoping for a boy. I remember desperately wanting a little girl when we got pregnant. I am glad we had a boy. I have some friends that just found out they are having twins…crazy.

Been thinking about how the church needs to be like Apple. More on that later.

Been doing some freelance graphic design stuff lately. I have always done freelance work, but it is actually picking up recently…it is nice just a bit overwhelming with full-time husband, full-time dad, full-time employee, and full-time student. I have an amazing wife in Rachel who supports me in this. She deserves a Starbucks coffee.

So if you didn’t hear, we got a new president. I am hopeful for changes and excited about being a part of history. I am honestly surprised at the response from the Christian community. I know many people are truly upset with who is in office, but I have to believe that it is God’s will (he does control the universe right?). I have to believe that for whatever reason this man has been elected to office. As a Christian I am called to pray for Barack Obama, not criticize him. I am called to pray that God will make him prosporous, not make my facebook status say he is the anti-christ. I am called to seek God’s face for our nation, not make idle threats to move to Mexico or Canada. I am not called to pray my own personal agenda, but pray what is truly beating on God’s heart. Sure this guy has different views than me, but both of them did, and I haven’t met one person in my life that has the exact same views as I do. So to throw it out there in the open…I support Barack Obama. Why? Because he is now our president, he embodies hope. Hmmm (soap box) we are called to love. Because, simply, love wins. Yep, LOVE WINS.

One thought on “Thoughts

  1. brianpjackson says:

    I confess to being one that made the idle threat to move to Canada. But my threat was to do that if Hillary got elected. Truth is, she would have beat McCain too. And then I would have been the sour-grapes guy.

Leave a Reply

