On the side

Was able to hang out with some good friends the other day as we all got together to watch the Olympics. Which, by the way, have been pretty amazing. I am just hoping I do not get too bored with track this next week. It was fun to hang out with some of these friends because, as of recent, we haven’t really done much with them. It is always fun to catch up, to talk about life, and to laugh as we make fun of stuff. The hard part, sometimes for me, is that a lot of people want to talk about church or find their common topic in the fact that I work at church. Most of the time it doesn’t bother me, and it is usually fun to just share stories and the other night was no different.

In conversation with one of my friends, I was really challenged again through the life of Jesus. I wish constantly that there was more of the nominal stuff of Jesus in the Bible. I wonder sometimes if the religious “consultants” who were picking and choosing the stuff we have in our Bible thought that some of Jesus’ normal life was unimportant. I always try to imagine what some of Jesus’ side conversations were, what he talked about right before bed, or during dinner. Surely he didn’t always talk about the Kingdom, his ministry, etc. Maybe he did – and that is cool – but I wrestle with the fact that most likely there were times where Jesus talked about carpentry, stuff that made him laugh, stuff that ticked him off.

Jesus was human. Jesus was simple. I think too many times Christians make Jesus out to be more complicated than he truly was.

Hmmm….

2 thoughts on “On the side

  1. Kristi says:

    I have never thoought about that before. Very interesting point.

  2. Cody says:

    Remember that Mel Gibson movie that protrayed the life of Jesus?…my favorite scene was where Jesus was building a table and his mom was there…it was cool how the movie kinda of showed a playful humorous side to Christ. I know HE has a since of humor, remember the 80’s.

Leave a Reply

